Theatron Project

For the Theatron-Project, the most influential European theatre buildings are modeled in 3D and then put into an interactive multimedia presentation, together with collected background information, such as drawings, texts, theatre pieces, films, video clips and photographs etc. The resulting software mainly serves the purpose of research and teaching theatre architecture to universities. Apart from the architectural and stage design components, the connected social and technical matters are being explored to give a valid overall picture of theatre from the early beginnings until today. Furthermore, this enables the interested public to gain fascinating insights into the development of theatre architecture. Last, but not least, the 3D-Model serves the theatres for self-portrayal and as a tool for designing new stage sets.

The project is being financially supported by the European Commission, by the Directorate-General XIII, Telematics Applications for Education, Training and Research Networks under the ESPRIT Programm.

The Theatron-Project has been founded by Theatron Ltd. and atelier4d-Architekten together with the University of Warwick, UK. It is being realised by a consortium of international experts. Part of the consortium are the Universities of Warwick, UK, Amsterdam, NL and Ferrara, IT, the foundation of Heritage Skills, Strasbourg, FR, the SPC Multimedia Group, NL, Theatron Ltd., UK and atelier4d-Architekten.

< back

Theatron Projekt

Im Theatron-Projekt werden die bedeutendsten europäischen Theatergebäude als 3D-Modell erstellt und zusammen mit in Datenbanken gesammelten Hintergrundinformationen wie Zeichnungen, Texte, Theaterstücken, Film und Videoaufnahmen, Fotographien etc. in einem interaktiven Multimediamodul zusammengefasst. Die so erstellte Software dient in erster Linie der Lehre und Erforschung des Theaterbaus an Hochschulen und Universitäten. Neben den rein architektonischen und bühnenbildnerischen Komponenten werden auch die dazugehörigen gesellschaftlichen und wichtigsten technischen Bezüge hergestellt, um ein lebhaftes Bild des Theaters insgesamt, von den Anfängen bis heute, zu zeichnen. Des Weiteren ermöglicht dies, der interessierten Öffentlichkeit Einblicke in die Entwicklung des Theaterbaus zu geben. Abgesehen davon dient das 3D-Modell den Theatern sowohl der Eigendarstellung als auch als Werkzeug zum Beispiel beim Entwurf neuer Bühnenbilder.

Finanzielle Unterstützung erfährt das Projekt von der Europäischen Kommission, durch das Directorate-General XIII, Telematics Applications for Education, Training and Research Networks unter dem ESPRIT Programm.

Das Theatron-Projekt wurde auf Initiative von Theatron Ltd. und atelier4d-Architekten in Verbindung mit der Universität Warwick, UK ins Leben gerufen. Umgesetzt wird es durch ein Konsortium internationaler Fachleute. An dem Konsortium sind die Universitäten von Warwick, UK, Amsterdam, NL und Ferrara, IT sowie die Foundation of Heritage Skills, Strasbourg, FR, die SPC Multimedia Group, NL, Theatron Ltd., UK und atelier4d-Architekten beteiligt.

< zurück zur Übersicht